Community Rating System

Communities in the National Flood Insurance Program can also participate in the Community Rating System. The Community Rating System (CRS) allows communities to perform additional activities that provide for a greater level of flood protection. Communities participating in the National Flood Insurance Program are rated as a Class 1 through Class 10. The class ranking of a community equates to a reduction in flood insurance rates. A Class 1 community receives a 45% reduction on flood insurance on properties within the floodplain and a Class 10 receives a 0% reduction.

Goals of the Rating System

When the Community Rating System was established it had three goals:

  • Facilitate accurate insurance rating
  • Promote the awareness of flood insurance
  • Reduce flood losses

Additional Rating Points

Over the last 10 years, the City of Coppell has increasingly performed tasks to generate additional rating points. Significant areas in which we have increased our efforts include our mapping capabilities and the national accreditation of our Director of Engineering as a Certified Floodplain Manager. Approximately every 5 years, the Federal Emergency Management Agency provides a CRS field verification of the activities the City performs to ensure that it continues to provide a high level of protection for properties from flooding or damage from flooding. For more information, visit the National Flood Insurance Program Community Rating System.